Name Office Profile
Colin Brain Member of Board
Colin Brain is a chartered mechanical engineer and with his late wife Sue spent nearly fifty years researching the history of British glass: particularly focusing on drinking glass in the second half of the seventeenth century.  This period saw rapid commercial, technological and stylistic innovations that together provided the foundation for the British glass industry's success. Colin joined the Board in 2004
Justine Bayley Member of Board Justine Bayley is an archaeological scientist. Her research interests are in the broad area of past technologies, with a particular focus on non-ferrous metal and glass working in the Roman to medieval periods. She has published on Anglo-Saxon and Viking glass working in the British Isles and on the production and use of enamels in Roman Britain. Justine joined the AHG Board in 1991 and served as Honorary Secretary from 1997-2004.
John Clark Membership Secretary John Clark has recently retired as Senior Curator of the medieval collections at the Museum of London, but maintains links with the Museum. His interest in medieval glass was first sparked by the discovery in 1982, during excavations in the City of London, of a large group of fragmentary glass beakers of about 1300, decorated with coloured enamels, of the so-called 'Syro-Frankish' or 'Aldrevandini'; type. As a member of AHG's committee he organised a one-day conference on medieval glass in 1992, and with Rachel Tyson published a bibliography of medieval glass vessels found in Britain. With the first publication of Glass News in 1996 he took responsibility for Glass News subscriptions and later for printing and circulation, until relinquishing this latter role in 2009. John has been a member of the Board since 1991.
Sally Cottam Honorary Secretary Sally Cottam studied archaeology at the University of Durham. After completing her Masters degree she was appointed as research assistant to the English Heritage funded Romano-British Glass Project. There, over a period of five years she worked with Professor Jennifer Price on glass from numerous sites in England and abroad. She now works as a producer in television news, whilst continuing her interest in glass of the Roman period. She completed her PhD at King's College, London on glass of the 1st century A.D. in April 2019. Sally joined the board of the AHG in 2012.
Jill Dymock Treasurer Jill Dymock is a long-term afficionado of glass, having started collecting 18th century English glass in the early 1970s. Since then she has attended numerous study days and conferences on glass both in Europe and in the US and has broadened her interests to include Venetian and Roman glass. A member of the Glass Circle since the early 1970s, she has also been a member of the AIHV and the AHG for a number of years. Jill joined the board in 2017.
Caroline Jackson Member of Board Caroline Jackson is Professor of Archaeological Materials at the University of Sheffield. Her main research is the study and scientific analysis of archaeological materials, specialising in glass and other vitreous materials such as faience. Caroline served as President of the Association until 2012 and rejoined the board in 2019.
Victoria Lucas Newsletter Editor Victoria Lucas joined the board in 2020.
Eleonora Montanari Newsletter Editor Eleonora Montanari joined the board in 2020.
Martine Newby Member of Board Martine Newby BA, MPhil, FSA is an independent scholar, lecturer, and curator specializing in ancient and antique glass. After graduating in archaeology from Southampton University she entered the British Museum as exhibition assistant to "The Glass of the Caesars" (1987) and was co-editor with Kenneth Painter of "Roman Glass. Two Centuries of Art and Invention" (1991). Martine then worked for the London glass gallery of Sheppard and Cooper Ltd for several years before turning freelance and undertaking her MPhil on central Italian medieval glass at Durham University. She has curated a number of exhibitions, including "Glass of Four Millennia" (2000) at the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, to coincide with the publication of her handbook on the museum's glass collection, and "From Palace to Parlour. A Celebration of 19th-Century British Glass" (2003), held at the Wallace Collection, London. Other publications include "The Fascination of Ancient Glass. The Dolf Schut Collection" (1999), "The Turnbull Collection of English 18th-Century Drinking Glasses" (2006) for the National Trust, and "Byzantine Mould-Blown Glass from the Holy Land. The Shlomo Moussaieff Collection" (2008). Martine joined the Board in 2000.
Jim Peake Member of Board Jim Peake is the Head of British and European Glass at Bonhams. He studied Conservation at Cardiff University and went on to complete a PhD in Archaeological Science in 2013 focusing on the compositional analysis of early Anglo-Saxon glass beads, funded by the Ministry of Defence and Defence estates (US Forces). His research interests currently focus on post-medieval glass and include Facon de Venise glass, early Dutch and German engraved glass, as well as English glass from the 18th and 19th centuries. He sits on the board of the Glass Society (formerly The Glass Circle and The Glass Association) and is a member of the AIHV. Jim joined the board in 2018.
Tim Penn Newsletter Editor Tim Penn joined the board in 2020.
Daniela Rosenow Member of Board Daniela Rosenow studied Egyptology and Classics at the Humboldt-University Berlin (Germany) where she completed her PhD in 2008 on the temple of the ancient Egyptian cat goddess Bastet at Tell Basta/Bubastis in the north-eastern Nile delta. She is involved in various fieldwork projects in Egypt and as a result, has since 2011 investigated Roman, Late Antique and Early Islamic glass discovered in the country. From 2012-2014 she held a Marie Curie Postdoc Research Position at UCL's Institute of Archaeology. Daniela is particularly interested in combining the strengths of archaeological and scientific glass research with a focus on reconstructing Egypt's position in the 1st millennium AD glass trade. She joined the Board in 2014.